[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 580: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 636: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
emuControlCenter • Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?
Page 1 of 1

Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 04 Dec 2009, 21:03
by Vicman
We allready have a small Script for Dosbox in eCC.
But, i don't like the way it works.

Because I normaly use D-Fend Reloaded to archive my Dos-Games, i don't want to install them
again for eCC. (and that is, what i have to do, when using marlborojacl's script.

By the way. It seems he will do not work on this script anymore.
So, this hole Projekt is unfinished by now.
Sadly, I haven't the knowledge, to write a working Script :no:

O.K.
Here's what i've made , and what i need :
@ Phoenix :
I know that is not the right way ('cause maybe diff. crc32) but in this way
my allready (in D-Fend Reloaded Folder) Installed Dos-Games works in eCC.

1. I've deactivated the eCC-Dosbox-Script (works only with *.zip)
2. I've added *.com *.bat *.exe to parse in eCC
3. Parsed my romfolders, where i have my Dosgames installed.
4. Wrote/Edit my Metainfos for the "Dosbox-Starting-executable" for each Game
and delete all other file-extension from the romdb.

Example for the Game A-Train:
[Attachment]
This Game has the Extensions: "AT.EXE" , "A-TRAIN.BAT" and "INFO.EXE"
Now, I've used the "A-TRAIN.BAT" for eCC and delete the two *.exe from eCC (remove Rom from DB)

All (allready) installed Games i've added, are working in eCC, without a Script for Dosbox !

The only Problem is, when you have to mount a CD-Drive (for *.ISO-Files) .
That will not work without a Script......

Question :
Is it possible, to use the template.ini to launch the Dosbox with the Config-Settings from ,e.g. D-Fend Reloaded ?

Meaning :
Example for "3 Skulls of the Toltecs"
Script for Dosbox :
dosbox.eccscript : Run($Emulator & $RomFile)

dosbox-template.ini : using the Config from D-Fend Re. :
Spoiler: show
# Config file for profile "3 Skulls of the Toltecs"

[sdl]
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1280x1024
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=false
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
usecancodes=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=I:\D-Fend Reloaded\mapper.txt

[dosbox]
machine=svga_s3
captures=I:\D-Fend Reloaded\Capture\#\3 Skulls of the Toltecs\
memsize=16

[render]
frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
core=normal
cputype=auto
cycles=fixed 12000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050
oplemu=default

[gus]
gus=true
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[dos]
xms=true
ems=true
umb=false
keyboardlayout=GR

[joystick]
joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[autoexec]
@echo off
SET PATH=Z:\
keyb GR 437
mount C "I:\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1\"
imgmount D "I:\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1\#\3SKULL~1\3SKULL~1.ISO" -t iso -fs iso
C:
cd\
cd \#\3SKULL~2\3SKULLS
Z:\config.com -securemode > nul
call 3SKULLS.BAT
If we can't do it this way, please help finding a Solution !

I want to archive/play my Dosgames in eCC :surrender:

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 05:39
by te_lanus
Hi vicman.

I run my dos games like this. Added *.conf to ecc, then command is : H:\Emu\dos\DOSBox-0.73\dosbox.exe
parameters is: -conf %ROM%

thus Nothing strange to add.

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 11:34
by Vicman
What do you mean with "Added *.conf to ecc" ?
1. From where do you have the *.conf ?
2. In wich Folder of eCC do you put the *.conf ?

Can you please give me an example :oops:

Something like e.g. for A-Train : create the "A-Train.conf" and put it in the same folder, where the Game is ?

Or do you use the Dosbox-script to create the *.conf for each Game ? (but i this case, i have to reinstall all my Games, or not ? ) :pardon:

And does it also work with ISO-Games (CD-Mounted)

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 11:42
by Phoenix
WARNING if you add the .conf file to ECC, please make sure you add the images on the ISO file !!!

The only solution for this is to create a script that looks for this. conf file.....if exist in same folder?, to play an manage DOS games, is really a big question still today with ECC

1. WE NEED AN DOS DAT FILE IS THERE ANY FOUND ON THE INTERNET???
2. SECOND SOLUTION: is there another frontend/wrapper we can use....

let use think about it.....

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 13:48
by te_lanus
Conf is added to ecc_dosbox_system.ini. I've attached mine.
1. From where do you have the *.conf ?
I make my own. I use the default one that i rename to game name, and setup everything in the conf file.
2. In wich Folder of eCC do you put the *.conf ?
Mine is x:\Emu\dos\conf\
Or do you use the Dosbox-script to create the *.conf for each Game ? (but i this case, i have to reinstall all my Games, or not ? )
the script that you posted in the OP should work without any problems.
And does it also work with ISO-Games (CD-Mounted)
Should do if the CD is in the CD-drive. It does work with ISO's

here is one I use
Spoiler: show
# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox .
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
# fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output: What video system to use for output.
# Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb, ddraw
# autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized. (pause is only valid for the second entry)
# Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause
# mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
# usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=ddraw
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
# machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
# Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
# memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=32

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
# aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes. If 'forced' is appended,the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
# Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=none

[cpu]
# core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
# Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple
# cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
# Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch
# cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond. Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags. Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
# 'auto' tries to guess what a game needs.
# It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
# 'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
# (Example: fixed 4000)
# 'max' will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle
#
# Possible values: auto, fixed, max
# cycleup: Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=max
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
# Possible values: 2048, 4096, 8192, 1024, 512, 256
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
# mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
# Possible values: intelligent, uart, none
# device: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none
# config: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use. See README for details.

mpu401=intelligent
device=default
config=

[sblaster]
# sbtype: Type of sblaster to emulate.
# Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, none
# sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300
# irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12
# dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7
# hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7
# mixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
# Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000

sbtype=sbpro1
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050

[gus]
# gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000
# gusbase: The IO addresses of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300
# irq1: The first IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQs are OK.)
# Possible values: 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12
# irq2: The second IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQs are OK.)
# Possible values: 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12
# dma1: The first DMA addresses of the Gravis Ultrasound. (Same DMAs are OK.)
# Possible values: 0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 7
# dma2: The second DMA addresses of the Gravis Ultrasound. (Same DMAs are OK.)
# Possible values: 0, 1, 3, 5, 6, 7
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
irq1=5
irq2=5
dma1=3
dma2=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000
# tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
# Possible values: auto, on, off
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Possible values: 22050, 44100, 48000, 32000, 16000, 11025, 8000
# disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=false

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
# 2axis (supports two joysticks),
# 4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
# 4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
# fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
# none disables joystick emulation.
# auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
# Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none
# timed: enable timed intervals for axis. (false is old style behaviour).
# autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
# swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
# buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
# Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
# parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq.
# for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
# (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
# for modem: listenport (optional).
# for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
# transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
# Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial
# serial2: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial
# serial3: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial
# serial4: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms: Enable XMS support.
# ems: Enable EMS support.
# umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=none

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount c H:\Emu\dos\dosroot\hd
imgmount d G:\Isos\cricket.ISO -t cdrom

c:\
path=c:\bin;z:\;
cd cricket
cricket
exit

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 13:51
by te_lanus
Phoenix wrote:WARNING if you add the .conf file to ECC, please make sure you add the images on the ISO file !!!

The only solution for this is to create a script that looks for this. conf file.....if exist in same folder?, to play an manage DOS games, is really a big question still today with ECC
yip as the crc is not fixed
1. WE NEED AN DOS DAT FILE IS THERE ANY FOUND ON THE INTERNET???
None that I know of
2. SECOND SOLUTION: is there another frontend/wrapper we can use....
I really don't know, I use eCC to launch my dos games
let use think about it.....
:-k

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 14:09
by Vicman
thanks te_lanus, i'll try it out ;)

@Phoenix :
Phoenix wrote: 1. WE NEED AN DOS DAT FILE IS THERE ANY FOUND ON THE INTERNET???
I have a clrmame.dat from the "DOSCollection v0.8 (2007-06-16)"

You can get this from Pleasuredome. (It's FREE for DL - meaning : no Ratio counting)
This DosCollection has about 17 GB (3597 games from 1981-1996)
(There are some "Virus-messages" when checking this Torrent)

I do also have the DOS Collection "Memories Projekt" (about 8 GB) - but no clrmame.Dat-File

btw.
Some Guys on Pleasuredom are working on a new Dos-Collection ;)
2. SECOND SOLUTION: is there another frontend/wrapper we can use....
I use the Frontend "D-Fend Reloaded" - for me , the best Frontend for Dos-Games
But i also want to archive them in eCC :D

Other good Frontend should be "D.O.G."

Links :
D-Fend re.
http://dfendreloaded.sourceforge.net/index.html

D.O.G.
http://www.freewebs.com/erikgg/

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 05 Dec 2009, 17:47
by Vicman
te_lanus wrote: ...Conf is added to ecc_dosbox_system.ini. I've attached mine...
...Should do if the CD is in the CD-drive. It does work with ISO's...here is one I use
Thank you te_lanus :happy:

All works fine with this "*.conf" - Trick ;)
also cd/Iso-mounting !

The only problem is to create an Imagepack for all User...'cause diff. Checksums...
But for me it works fine, and i can archive my DosGames in eCC. And this is cool :cool:

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 11:28
by Jarlaxe
Hi !

Please, can give an example of a file *.conf ??

How i can create this file and must contain inside?

Thankssss! :sweatdrop:

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 12:39
by Vicman
Hi Jarlaxe,
Because i allready have archived my DosGames in DFend-Reloaded, i used that *.conf - file.

1. First, use te_lanus' ecc_dosbox.ini
2. I have put my *.conf-files in ecc/user/dosbox/roms (but you can put them, where you want)
3. parse your "config's" in eCC
4. Set emulator config. for dosbox & use -conf %ROM%

Config-File for Dosgame "2Fast4U" : (game is installed , no iso mounted)
Spoiler: show
[sdl]
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1280x1024
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
usecancodes=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=E:\D-Fend Reloaded\mapper.txt

[dosbox]
machine=svga_s3
captures=
memsize=16

[render]
frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050
oplemu=default

[gus]
gus=true
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[dos]
xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=GR

[joystick]
joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[autoexec]
@echo off
SET PATH=Z:\
keyb GR 437
mount C "E:\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1\"
C:
cd\
cd \#\2FAST4~1
Z:\config.com -securemode > nul
BIFI.EXE
Config-File for "3 Skulls of the Toltecs" (Game is Installed, ISO is needed)
Spoiler: show
[sdl]
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1280x1024
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=false
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
usecancodes=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=E:\D-Fend Reloaded\mapper.txt

[dosbox]
machine=svga_s3
captures=
memsize=16

[render]
frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
core=normal
cputype=auto
cycles=fixed 12000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050
oplemu=default

[gus]
gus=true
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[dos]
xms=true
ems=true
umb=false
keyboardlayout=GR

[joystick]
joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=true

[serial]
serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[autoexec]
@echo off
SET PATH=Z:\
keyb GR 437
mount C "E:\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1\"
imgmount D "E:\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1\#\3SKULL~1\3SKULL~1.ISO" -t iso -fs iso
C:
cd\
cd \#\3SKULL~2\3SKULLS
Z:\config.com -securemode > nul
call 3SKULLS.BAT

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 13:05
by Vicman

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 13:19
by Jarlaxe
Greeeeeeeat Vicman!

Works perfectly! Very very thanks! =D>

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 13:28
by Vicman
Thanks goes to te_lanus :D

btw.
if there is a possibility, to "change" the "*.conf-checksum" (crc32) , we can make an Imagepack for this Dosbox-Solution... :-k
maybe it's possible with clrmame..to rewrite/get another crc32.....

Re: Start Dosbox with D-Fend Re. Config-File ?

Posted: 06 Dec 2009, 18:28
by te_lanus
Vicman wrote:Thanks goes to te_lanus :D
:happy:
btw.
if there is a possibility, to "change" the "*.conf-checksum" (crc32) , we can make an Imagepack for this Dosbox-Solution... :-k
maybe it's possible with clrmame..to rewrite/get another crc32.....
I'm not so sure as crc is dependent on a lot of stuff that would differ from one machine to another