Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

This is a forum section for ideas howto implement and running DOS games in ECC (using DOSBox), this forum wil be temporally here until the problem is solved.
User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 06 Jan 2010, 18:52

Hi Phoenix,
can you add : "open game-config." to the rom options ? (right klick on the Game)
So, the crc32-config for the game will direct open with the win-editor.

Sometimes you need to change some Settings in the game-config.
And this would save some time to find/open it :yes_head:
Attachments
open game-config.jpg
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Phoenix » 09 Jan 2010, 11:39

Hi Vicman,


The menu is a 'global' menu used for all games, implementing this option for Dosbox could be an idea, however in ECC it should only be visible for dosbox games only...i have to research this....
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 09 Jan 2010, 19:45

yep, understood and waiting ;)
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Phoenix » 11 Jan 2010, 22:40

Hi Vicman,

I have come up with something else...another idea...hope you like it....it's a new set of hotkeys to use with the script, you press (and hold them) when you want to run the game, i think the functions listed here will say enough :tt2:

Code: Select all

; HOTKEYS:
; SHIFT+S > Re-configure gamestartup settings.
; SHIFT+D > Re-configure game dosbox config.
; SHIFT+E > Edit game dosbox config.
; SHIFT+R > Reset ALL game settings (startup & dosbox).
; SHIFT+X > Delete gamesettings files (startup, dosbox, changedfiles).
Download the latest script version and let me know if it worked! :clap:

code pieces:

Code: Select all

; === HOTKEYS PART 1 (DELETE & RESET) ===
If _IsPressed('44') = 1 Then ;SHIFT+D > Re-configure game dosbox config.
	FileDelete($GameConfFile)
	ConfigDosbox()
	Exit
EndIf
If _IsPressed('45') = 1 Then ;SHIFT+E > Edit game dosbox config.
	If FileExists($GameConfFile) Then
		Run("notepad.exe " & $GameConfFile)
	Else
		Msgbox(64,"ECC DOSBOX", "There is no dosbox config set for '" & $eccFileRomNamePlain &  "' to edit!", 6)
	EndIf
	Exit
EndIf
If _IsPressed('52') = 1 Then ;SHIFT+R > Reset ALL game settings (startup & dosbox)
	IniWrite($GameSettingsINI, "STARTUPDATA", "gamestart", "")
	IniWrite($GameSettingsINI, "STARTUPDATA", "gamesetup", "")
	IniWrite($GameSettingsINI, "STARTUPDATA", "dosboxconf", "")
	Msgbox(64,"ECC DOSBOX", "ALL settings for '" & $eccFileRomNamePlain &  "' are now cleared!", 6)
	Exit
EndIf
If _IsPressed('58') = 1 Then ;SHIFT+X > Delete gamesettings files (startup, dosbox, changedfiles)
	FileDelete($ChangedFilesZipFile)
	FileDelete($GameSettingsINI)
	FileDelete($GameConfFile)
	Msgbox(64,"ECC DOSBOX", "ALL files for '" & $eccFileRomNamePlain &  "' have been deleted!", 6)
	Exit
EndIf

Code: Select all

; === HOTKEYS PART 2 (RECONFIGURE) ===
If _IsPressed('53') = 1 Then ;SHIFT+S > Re-configure gamestartup settings.
	IniWrite($GameSettingsINI, "STARTUPDATA", "gamestart", "")
	IniWrite($GameSettingsINI, "STARTUPDATA", "gamesetup", "")
	ConfigStartup()
	Exit
EndIf
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 12 Jan 2010, 18:54

Hi Phoenix,
Great Idea, and it works :loveit: :swing:

....where to put this Info in eCC, so the eCC-Users knows this Hotkeys :-k
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Phoenix » 12 Jan 2010, 21:17

Hi Vicman,

When the user selected dosbox.exe as the emulator, they automaticly see the first 15 lines of the script, including these hotkeys....maybe we can implement a one-time message...what do you think?
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 12 Jan 2010, 21:30

Yes, that's a solution.
Maybe you can also put the info on the Factsheet for eCC-Dosbox :yes_head:
Attachments
factsheet-dosbox.jpg
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Phoenix » 18 Jan 2010, 18:11

Hi Vicman,

I've added a one-time messagebox for the hotkeys ;)

code piece:

Code: Select all

; === FIRST STARTUP MESSAGE (HOTKEYS) ===
If IniRead($ScriptSettingsINI , "GENERAL", "firststartup", "") = "" Then
	Msgbox(64,"ECC DOSBOX HOTKEYS", "ONE-TIME MESSAGE" & @CRLF & @CRLF & _
	"SHIFT+S > Re-configure gamestartup settings." & @CRLF & _
	"SHIFT+D > Re-configure game dosbox config." & @CRLF & _
	"SHIFT+E > Edit game dosbox config." & @CRLF & _
	"SHIFT+R > Reset ALL game settings (startup & dosbox)." & @CRLF & _
	"SHIFT+X > Delete gamesettings files (startup, dosbox, changedfiles).")
	IniWrite($ScriptSettingsINI, "GENERAL", "firststartup", "no")
EndIf
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 20 Jan 2010, 14:04

sorry,
i think no eCC-User will remember this function, when it will be only shown one-time in a message-box....
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Phoenix » 20 Jan 2010, 20:12

So you also whant these in the factsheet aswell?
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Vicman
PLATINUM member
Posts: 1233
Joined: 17 Jun 2007, 16:12
Location: Germany,Bochum

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by Vicman » 21 Jan 2010, 10:53

well, eCC is not my Programm...., and I know the hotkeys..... :clown:
But for other Users, you should write this Info somewhere permanently in eCC ;)
imagepacks:
Done: Vic20, N64, Philips VG-5000 G7000 G7400, SordM5, Amstrad GX4000, Enterprise 64/128
Progress: Atari 8bit, Dosbox, Exelvision EXL 100
Vicman's eCC-Clips on You Tube

sharriya
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Feb 2010, 12:28

Re: Dosbox/Rom options : open game-config in editor

Unread post by sharriya » 12 Feb 2010, 08:29

What is the specification for commercial music CDs? How much data can you fit on a CD-Rom if it is not formatt? How much data can you fit on a CD-Rom if it is not formatted according to this specification?
__________________
matrimonial

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest