Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Do you have trouble to set-up your emulator for a platform?, need a script?...ask here, we might be able to help you!
Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 15 May 2014, 01:16

Hi, image mounting script for ePSXe (with Daemon Tools Lite - it is configured in settings) doesnt work for me. In attachment is error I get. Second attachment is what settings I used. Please note that I tried also with many different settings (turned on and off escape path, etc.) too but still I get this error.

I am probably doing something wrong but I dont know what :)
Attachments
1.jpg
2.png

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 15 May 2014, 09:59

You have found a bug :thumb:

Could you try to replace ecc-script\eccScriptSystem.au3 with the version below, and let me know!

*EDIT: File removed!
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 15 May 2014, 13:12

Phoenix wrote:You have found a bug :thumb:

Could you try to replace ecc-script\eccScriptSystem.au3 with the version below, and let me know!
It fixed the error window. But still doesnt want to mount image file (I have "use cue" picked).

If you turn off escape path, then daemon tools shows "error in command line".

If you turn on escape path, then daemon tools main menu opens but doesnt mount anything.

Maybe there are problems with script now? I think it shouldnt open daemon tools main menu and then try to mount it anyway.

Here is Daemon Tools commandline: http://www.daemon-help.com/en/windows_i ... ample.html

Maybe if it was applied on script, then Daemon Tools main window wont appear and it could be mounted in background. But now still the problem is that it cannot be mounted in any way:)

Code: Select all

-mount

Mounts an image file to a virtual drive:

Syntax: -mount <type>,<n>,<path>

<type>: "dt" or "scsi"
<n>:    device number. Device numeration starts from zero, so valid numbers are: "0" — "3" 
        (depending on number of installed devices) 
<path>: path to image file

Example: DTLite.exe -mount scsi, 0,"C:\My Images\name_of_image.ape"

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 09:49

ECC already uses the -mount, maybe they changed something in the last Daemon tools version over the time...

ECC mount parameter:

Code: Select all

 -mount 0, "$RomFile"
ECC unmount parameter:

Code: Select all

 -unmount 0
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 10:09

Hmmm...maybe it better to leave the klunky 'big' 'Daemon tools (wich need virtual drivers etc, and install procedures...), and use a smaller standalone noninstall application like: OSFmount
Website: http://www.osforensics.com/tools/mount-disk-images.html

They seem to have commandline support now: http://www.passmark.com/forum/showthrea ... ne-support
osfmount-banner.jpg
osfmount-banner.jpg (11.72 KiB) Viewed 1982 times
Spoiler: show

Code: Select all

The OSFMount CLI can be accessed by opening a command prompt with administrator privileges, and running the OSFMount.com console application in the application directory.
 
 
 
Usage
 
 
 
osfmount -a -t type -m mountpoint [-n] [-o opt1[,opt2 ...]] [-f|-F file]
 
      [-s size] [-b offset] [-v partition]
 
osfmount -d|-D [-m mountpoint]
 
osfmount -l [-m mountpoint]
 
 
 
-a      Mount a virtual disk.
 
 
 
-d      Dismount a virtual disk.
 
-D      Force dismount a virtual disk.
 
 
 
-t type
 
       Select the backingstore for the virtual disk.
 
 
 
vm      Virtual disk is backed by virtual memory (ie. RAM disk).
 
       If -f is specified, that file is pre-loaded into the virtual memory.
 
 
 
file    Virtual disk is backed by the file specified with -f file
 
 
 
-f file or -F file
 
       File to use as for virtual disk.
 
 
 
-l      List configured devices. If given with -m, display details about
 
       that particular device.
 
 
 
 
 
-s size
 
       Size of the virtual disk. Size is number of bytes unless suffixed with
 
       'b|k|m|g|t|K|M|G|T' which denotes number of 512-byte blocks,
 
       thousand bytes, million bytes, billion bytes, trillion bytes,
 
       kilobytes, megabytes, gigabytes and terabytes respectively. The suffix
 
       can also be % to indicate percentage of free physical memory which
 
       could be useful when creating vm type virtual disks. It is optional to
 
       specify a size unless the file to use for a file type virtual disk does
 
       not already exist or when a vm type virtual disk is created without
 
       specifying an initialization image file using the -f or -F.
 
 
 
       The size can be a negative value to indicate the size of free physical
 
       memory minus this size. If you e.g. type -400M the size of the virtual
 
       disk will be the amount of free physical memory minus 400 MB.
 
 
 
-b offset
 
       Specifies an offset in an image file where the virtual disk begins.
 
       If not specified, the offset shall be automatically calculated.
 
 
 
-v partition
 
       Specifies which partition to mount when mounting a raw hard disk image
 
       file containing a master boot record and partitions.
 
       If not specified, the partition shall be automatically selected.
 
 
 
-o option
 
       Set or reset options.
 
 
 
ro      Creates a read-only virtual disk.
 
       This is enabled by default if -f is specified.
 
 
 
rw      Specifies that the virtual disk should be read/writable.
 
       This is enabled by default if vm type virtual disk is created.
 
 
 
rem     Specifies that the device should be created with removable media
 
       characteristics. This changes the caching behaviour of the virtual disk
 
 
 
fix     Specifies that the media characteristics of the virtual disk should be
 
       fixed media. This option is selected by default.
 
 
 
-m mountpoint
 
       Specifies a drive letter (eg. "F:") to perform the operation on.
 
       When creating a new virtual disk you can specify #: as mountpoint
 
       in which case the first unused drive letter is automatically used.
 
 
 
Examples
 
 
 
Mounting an image file as a virtual drive
 
 
 
osfmount -a -t file -f C:\passmark\images\vmdk_split.001 -m #:
 
 
 
Creating device...
 
Created device 0: G: -> C:\passmark\images\vmdk_split.001
 
Notifying applications...
 
Done.
 
 
 
Dismounting a virtual drive
 
 
 
osfmount -d -m g:
 
 
 
Flushing file buffers...
 
Locking volume...
 
Dismounting filesystem...
 
Removing device...
 
Removing mountpoint...
 
Done.
 
 
 
Displaying virtual drive details
 
 
 
osfmount -l -m g:
 
 
 
G: = \??\C:\passmark\images\vmdk_split.001
 
Size: 42939588608 bytes (39.99 GB), ReadOnly, File Type Virtual Disk, HDD.
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 10:39

Yeah!, i did some tests with OSFMount 32-bit and a ISO file!

Tested on Windows XP 32-bit and Windows 7 64-bit, it works great, can somebody also test this program out? examples:

Note: Use the .COM file to not get the GUI

Mounting as station X:

Code: Select all

osfmount.com -a -t file -f "file.iso" -m X:
Unmount station X:

Code: Select all

osfmount.com -d -m X:
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 12:10

Looks good but the downside of using this program I think are that it supports much less image format types. The other thing is if this image mounting program is going to stay alive for a longer time? It doesnt seem popular and can be abandoned someday.

Maybe "-mount 0, "$RomFile" doesnt work now because there is no <type> in the command. It should look like: "-mount <type>,<n>,<path>" - which means <type>: "dt" or "scsi".

Where can I change this parameter to check it? I dont see "-mount 0, "$RomFile" in ePSXe script file.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 14:35

Kirkor wrote:Where can I change this parameter to check it? I dont see "-mount 0, "$RomFile" in ePSXe script file.
You can find the line in "ecc-script\eccScriptSystem.au3"

Then change this line:

Code: Select all

ShellExecuteWait($DaemonTools, " -mount 0, " & $RomFile, "")
to:

Code: Select all

ShellExecuteWait($DaemonTools, " -mount 0 scsi, " & $RomFile, "")
And test it!, let me know, so i can update this file!

Nevertheless, Daemontools will be 2nd choice and optional in the next upcoming updates and ECC releases, and OSFMount will be shipped in the ECC package, it can accept all image files daemon tools also can...
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 14:57

I will test in a while.

Does it support mdf/mds for example? I didnt see it in a list of supported image files.
Last edited by Kirkor on 16 May 2014, 15:24, edited 1 time in total.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 15:23

Does not work. Translating it it says something like "Syntax error of Mount parameter".

My virtuaal drive is scsci not dt so it is fine. I am not sure why it doesnt work now. Whole command line is according to what they wrote. I tested this commandline and it works when used in a normal way so it is proper. Something wrong in how frontend manages it.

Sounds good if OSF will be a part of frontend. When is update going bo be with this? :)

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 15:25

You can see how the script handles it, just add before the shellexecute a messagebox ;-), maybe there you find the problem...

Code: Select all

MsgBox(64, "DEBUG", $DaemonTools & " -mount 0 scsi, " & $RomFile)
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 16:10

Phoenix wrote:You can see how the script handles it, just add before the shellexecute a messagebox ;-), maybe there you find the problem...

Code: Select all

MsgBox(64, "DEBUG", $DaemonTools & " -mount 0 scsi, " & $RomFile)
It shows program that is used, command specified and location of the file. I dont know how it can help :)

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 18:18

So..., now you can conlcude if the frontend is using it properly... :lmfao:
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 18:34

Could you please expalin how to use it? Maybe you can send a ready file/script so that I can test it on my computer as I dont know how to do it :)

It would be good if one script could work for many emulators but I dont think it is possible as after mounting emulators require different handling to run mounted games.

When OSFmount will be added to frontend? Will you also change scripts and other files liek eccScriptSystem.au3 to work with this?

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 19:11

eccScriptSystem.au3 needs to be changed yes, and many other files, maybe the whole ECC config screen needs te get reorganized...
OSFMount will then be shipped standard with ECC.

Here is a test package run mount.bat to mount the disc.iso as drive X:, check if you have the drive....there are some supervision watara images on it, and unmount.bat to unmount drive X:
Attachments
OSFMount_test.ZIP
(6.75 MiB) Downloaded 44 times
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 21:06

Phoenix wrote:eccScriptSystem.au3 needs to be changed yes, and many other files, maybe the whole ECC config screen needs te get reorganized...
OSFMount will then be shipped standard with ECC.

Here is a test package run mount.bat to mount the disc.iso as drive X:, check if you have the drive....there are some supervision watara images on it, and unmount.bat to unmount drive X:
Mount.bat creates virtual disc X and mounts disc.iso with some images of Supervision game boxes - it works fine.

Unmount.bat doesnt work. Virtual drive X is still there and I can even access files.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 21:24

Kirkor wrote:Unmount.bat doesnt work. Virtual drive X is still there and I can even access files.
Yes, because it's locked, close all apps using the virtual disk like image viewers and/or explorers, maybe there is a force option...

Good to know that it works!, makes me happy!
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 21:26

Hah! found, use -D instead of -d in the batch file ;-)

Code: Select all

-d      Dismount a virtual disk.
-D      Force dismount a virtual disk.
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Kirkor
Posts: 114
Joined: 09 Mar 2014, 11:07

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Kirkor » 16 May 2014, 21:27

I just tested OSFMount in normal usage and I am against using it. It was not created for mounting games.

It doesnt support mounting cue, ccd, or mds. Mounting images in most cases is because of audio cd tracks. There is no way to use it if it doesnt support cue, etc.

I also mounted bin file (normal bin and cue game) and it even doesnt work.

Even if you make it working, this program is useless for frontend usage :) It is much better to fix Daemon Tools or maybe find another Virtual Drive program
Last edited by Kirkor on 16 May 2014, 21:35, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Phoenix
ECC Developer 2006-2016
Posts: 9057
Joined: 27 Aug 2006, 01:17
Location: Deventer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Problem with ePSXe image mounting script

Unread post by Phoenix » 16 May 2014, 21:33

Hmmm, i don't know if there is a official portable Daemon tools, this can't be that easy! :wow: : http://www.daemon-help.com/en/installat ... ation.html
Sebastiaan Ebeltjes | ECC Developer 2006-2016 | ECC Forum Admin | Phoenix Interactive WebMaster
[- ECC programs -]
eccUpdate, eccScriptSystem, GtkThemeSelect, DatFileUpdater (DFU), ImagePackCenter (IPC), eccDiagnostics, 3dGallery, iccImageInject
eccKameleonCode, eccCreateStartmenuShotcut, eccThirdPartyConfig (TPC), EmuMoviesDownloader (EMD), eccVideoPlayer
MobyGamesImporter (MGI), ECC Amiga GetGemusConfig.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest